New

Everyone makes the obligatory “resolutions post”. They all seem much the same. But I like setting goals, and I like lists, and I figure that throwing this out to the internet universe may help me to keep them. So, to my friends and family who read my little ramblings, I’m asking you to keep me honest. Help me to create some new habits this year, and I’ll help you to create some of yours. 🙂

My biggest priority this year is to get healthy. Not to confuse this with weight loss, because everyone says they want to lose weight the first of the year. Truth be told, I still weigh about 15-20lbs more than I did before I got pregnant with Audrey, and I would like to lose that weight, but it’s less of a priority than the rest. Some of you know I have been dealing the last couple of years with various cardiovascular nonsense, and after two years I got the green light to put off surgery for a few more years (and I’m hoping indefinitely). I decided to not take beta blockers any longer. My asthma medication and dosage is finally sorted out in such a way that it’s effective and doesn’t seem to be causing heart arrhythmias, and I seem to still be able to control my SVT attacks on my own. (Who knew a few mountaineering trips in my 20’s would be so useful now? Hooray for compression breathing!) Now I just need to work on getting my heart and lungs stronger. I am planning to start running again in earnest, but it will be slow going at the beginning. I figure if I can at the very least climb on the treadmill a few days a week, I will be making progress. That’s a far cry from the running I was doing 5 years ago, but I’ll get back there. It will just take time. Please help me to be patient and stay the course, even when running is the most disheartening thing in the world, and makes me want to cry. There are two other major factors here I need to address: first, I need to sleep. No, really. I want to set and keep a goal of at least 4 hours of uninterrupted sleep every 24 hours. I would love to be one of those people who could sleep for 8 or 9 hours, but to be honest, I’d love to be able to stay in bed for 2. I’m not entirely certain how to obtain this without medication, but I need to figure it out. Secondly, I need to figure out how to not be so stressed. Working on that, too. It’s going to take some serious practice and retraining of old habits to keep from going into the “panic and run away” mode that has been my reaction for most of my life. Again, I’m not certain how to do this. I’m trying all sorts of things. Maybe something will stick? Regardless, I’m open to suggestions.

I want to create at least one thing every week. A painting, an essay or short story, a dumb craft or sewing project that I have been planning to make forever. Whatever. Something. I plan to use this space to blog whatever it is. So, my apologies in advance if you were hoping to avoid cheesy crafts or mediocre attempts at painting with oil. 🙂

There are some other goals for the next year, though they are much more mundane. Pulling the siding and insulating the house, building a greenhouse so we can garden up here, putting in a cut flower bed (deer resistant varieties, please), putting up a swing set for Audrey, securing a true “emergency fund” in an amount I feel could support us for at least 5-6 months (we’re about 80% of the way there), replacing the subfloor in Audrey’s bathroom, sealing the tile throughout the house, teaching my kid to ski and ride horses, and backpacking trips in the summer. I’ll post about those as well.

So there you go. That’s my plan for 2015 in a nutshell. I have decided that there is a certain accountability factor in blogging about it, especially when 90% of my daily interactions are with a four year old. So I guess I’m counting on you to give me feedback and not let me become too much of a hermit on my little hill here or become too busy with the daily minutiae to forget the overarching goals.

<3, me.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “New

  1. sarahkitty21

    I’ve got your back lady! I’m happy to hear about every success and failure in your attempts to be better. Ok mine are: get healthier, keep my home healthier (stay ahead of the cleaning eek), be more loving and patient and to write more than a paragraph everyday anywhere other than Facebook, about anything.

  2. Pingback: 2015 Goal check in… | inosculation

Leave a Reply

