Magpie Dreams

It was warm today. A warm breeze from the south that tasted of springtime. In the basement, a hundred tiny sprouts line up in rows, screaming to let them out into the ground before they outgrow their tiny containers. Next week, our chicks will arrive. I am gathering plants and ideas and pictures for our yard, along with seed catalogs, blueprints, and a half dozen panes of glass. Tomorrow, I am wandering across town to pick up a couple of doors — one for a playhouse, one for a greenhouse. Or a chicken coop. Or a back gate. Maybe it will be a portal to The Next Big Thing. Whatever that is. I waste time scouring craigslist and freecycle for building materials and antiques, flipping through magazines and scrolling through blogs looking at pictures of everything I want to plant or build. And, ohmygod, I have I really just discovered Pintrest? I scoffed at it initially, but after spending (too much) time on it today, I think I might be in love. It’s such a great collection of beauty and inspiration, and a handy little place to store ideas, to boot. I can hardly wait for it to be “officially” spring.

What are you planning for this spring? What are you really excited about? What crazy idea are you going to pursue?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

