Vibrance


Dear Spoonie,

You are three months old today. You have grown so much in the last month. You are huge; you weigh 12 pounds 15 ounces, and are nearly 25 inches long, which is such a nice contrast to the first six weeks you were in our lives. You are wearing 6-12 month clothes, and I have nearly given up on finding dresses that fit you as anything other than a shirt, or pants which fit both around the waist and in length. You are still my little string bean.

You have been very active this month, and constantly study everything around you as though you are trying to figure it all out. You love other people, and will often smile at them or stick your tongue out at them to get them to play with you. It is a favorite game between you and I especially.

You seem to be in love with the world — everything is exciting to you, and it is so fun to watch you absorb it all. You have grown even more impatient with napping this month, and I am certain it’s because you have decided that you don’t want to miss a thing.

You have learned to grasp at toys, and at my hair, which you often clutch onto whenever I carry you. You are still amazed by the cat, who often sleeps curled up on your changing table or the edge of your crib while you nap.

In addition to the cat (who is a fantastic mystery to you), you are currently in love with your mobile, your bunny, the baby gym we got you, and bubbles. You prefer classical music to most anything else I have played for you, and you love it when people sing to you. You are incredibly snuggly still, and love to sleep on your daddy’s chest or in my arms. Every night we take a bath and then I wrap you up in your daddy’s old baby blanket and we curl up together and read stories until you sleep.

You are starting to get some signs of teething, but still have no teeth, and in the meantime, I am trying to soak up every single toothless baby grin I can get from you. You smile constantly; you even wake up grinning. You have recently discovered your voice, and your coos and gurgles have become their own language to you, one in which you chatter to us (often quite loudly) all day long. On more than one occasion, I have startled you by speaking to you when you are babbling, only to realize that you were talking to your mobile or the animals on your crib bumpers, and not to me. And you let me know clearly that I am interrupting. You are still not laughing, but you are very close, and I can’t wait until your chatter is punctuated by giggles. I can tell already that you have a fantastic sense of humor.

You were born just after winter solstice: a celebration of the return of light to the world. I can’t think of a more appropriate time for you to have been born. Every day you fill my world with such vibrance and joy, it makes my heart feel as though it is nearly bursting. I keep telling myself to write everything down, to fill the memory cards on the camera with photos, to grasp each little image and file it away in some corner of my mind. I don’t ever want to forget this time with you. Ever.

I love you, Spoon.

xo,
mama

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

