slowing down

I have always been ambitious. I’ve also always been a list-maker. This is a terrible combination, of course. I am working on slowing down. Partially, this has occurred by force, when I’m so exhausted from the pregnancy, I check two items off of my daily list and sleep or read for hours. Partially, it is a choice, and not the easiest one to make, but I am learning.

I woke up early today, initially planning to accomplish half a dozen things before rushing off to the airport to pick up Aaron. Instead, I am reading blogs and eating a pear with a cup of tea while I listen to NPR. (I swear, my child will recognize Steve Inskeep’s voice before my own.) The nursery closet is still unpainted, as are the hallway closet doors. The shoe moldings have yet to be installed. My house is disgustingly dirty. I need to sweep and dust and finish laundry. I need to weed the garden and clean the chicken coop.

And you know what? I’m beginning to realize that the list will always be there. And that’s okay. I am learning, I suppose, to enjoy the small moments in life. Maybe I need to learn to shorten the list. I feel like this is such a transitional period in my life; one in which I hope to learn that it is not the accomplishments that matter, or how much you can cram into one day, but how much you have experienced, and whether you are able to stop long enough to enjoy simplicity. This is difficult for me.

So, this morning, I am enjoying the weight and warmth of my mug, the sweetness of a fresh pear, the softness of the cat’s back as she sleeps nearby.

I have a challenge for you. Somewhere, in the chaos of today, or even just sometime this week, slow down. Experience something really simple and joyful in living. Don’t schedule it. Come back and tell me about it if you do.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “slowing down

  1. Oh yes. Yes. The list will always, always be there.
    (I should put you in touch with my lovely sister who lives in Eugene. Her little boy is due in November!)

    • Lauren

      I’m learning this. 🙂 It is currently the height of my frustration.

      I would love to get in touch with your sister. I’m always excited to meet more expectant mamas. (Because, let’s face it, over the years, most of my friends have been guys — generally of the wilderness guide variety. Once someone started living in my abdomen, many of them just wrote me off as a freak of nature.) 🙂

Leave a Reply

