new…

We have been spending the last two days quietly. Yesterday was a ski trip, and then watching videos and toasting at home. Today was going to be painting and demolition of the upstairs bathroom, but it has become knitting and football and naps.

This last year has been a hectic one for us. Spring of 2009 was working all the time — essentially two full-time jobs, and trying to keep the peace with family members. Early summer brought the onslaught of remodeling projects, a commitment to stay in this house, and the realization that fresh eyes help make a situation easier, but they do not necessarily alter the situation. A new view of my job. Again. And of course, the chickens. Then autumn came, and more questions. throwing myself into more projects, and a crazy idea I am still very much only starting to pursue, which could change everything. Now it is cold. Cold enough this last week for a surprise snowstorm. The possibility of a new job, a new city, a new… everything. And before you know it, another year has gone.

2009 has taught me patience. It has taught me stoicism, and it has taught me that I can exceed the boundaries I too often place upon myself. It has taught me to hope. It has shown me my true limitations. It has taught me to believe in myself just a little bit, and more importantly, it has taught me to ask, “Why not?”

I have no insight into the future, but I think it’s probably pretty safe to predict that 2010 will be a year of notable changes around our house. I’m pretty sure that our lives will look different in a year. I believe that our lives will continuously be getting better. I don’t tend to make resolutions, but I am a strong believer in lists. I make one every year, and every year, am able to cross off nearly everything on my list. (2009’s list is here.) And so in 2010, I plan to:

remodel our kitchen

bake more bread

raise at least 60% of our food

create a donation garden

finish my National Boards after much debate, I withdrew from my National Boards in February, at least for now. It was unnecessary to maintain my certification, and I am beginning to think bigger things may be on the horizon.

complete my master gardener certification through OSU (provided I can somehow afford it)

laugh more

run a little nearly every day

pursue the business full-time

create more

get together with friends at least once a month

spend more time with my husband

get all of the nagging little finish work projects done around the house

make a point to do something (hiking, backpacking, kayaking, cycling, climbing) every weekend

weekly hatha yoga

maintain the holiday traditions we have started over the last couple of years — big dinners with friends, harvesting a Yule tree, etc.

design and run at least three workshops

I hope this next year is a good one. I hope it brings us as a little closer to peace, both on a global scale and for each individual person. I hope that we all have a wonderful year ahead of us.

 

** Here it is, October, and I am nearly eight months pregnant. It certainly has changed the timeline of things. Needless to say, these are all still on the horizon, but for obvious reasons, a few things on this year’s list have necessarily been modified. I’m pleased to say that I’ve accomplished most of these things, or I plan to accomplish most of them. There are a few that simply won’t happen this year (i.e. a marathon), but perhaps they will be moved to next year’s list. 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “new…

  1. This is brilliant, thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

